Comics! Punk Rock Jesus!

For comics that I absolutely fall in love with, I will usually have a sarcastic or some kind of comedic opening for these blogs if you haven’t noticed. This one is actually so far out there and different, I have no idea how to even critique it. I honestly don’t. All I do know is that this comic is completely bad-ass. There is nothing I can think of to compare it to. There is very so often a comic that pushes certain limits and boundaries starting off. Punk Rock Jesus is one of those comics. A VERTIGO comic mini-series spanning 6 issues, this will definitely cause a bit of a stir.

To start off, the comic is drawn in black and white. No colors and a very sketchy art style which I think adds to the atmosphere of the comic itself. The story revolves around a reality TV show that is called J-2. A company called Orphis enlisted a world famous Geneticist and Environmentalist named Dr. Sarah Epstein to set up a human cloning lab in international waters. She is to take DNA from the Shroud of Turin to clone Jesus. That is right you saw what I typed. They are cloning Jesus and turning him into a TV show.

This is one of those comics where I really don’t want to give anything out. With it being a mini series the plot will be full in the next few months. I just want to wet your eye buds and turn you onto this brand new spanking VERTIGO comic. Hopefully this will have done it’s job and you will be waiting the new comic day with me for the next issue of Punk Rock Jesus along with SAGA and what ever else your monthlies are.

Leave a Reply

